AEP Leadership

  • Nicholas K. Akins

    Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer

    Nick Akins is chairman, president and chief executive officer of American Electric Power. He is AEP’s 11th chairman, 10th president, and sixth CEO in the company’s more than 100-year history. He is a member of AEP’s board of directors and is the only management representative on the board.


  • Robert P. Powers

    Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, American Electric Power

    Robert P. Powers is executive vice president and chief operating officer, with responsibility for AEP Utilities; Commercial Operations; Customer Services, Marketing & Distribution Services; Generation; Nuclear Generation, and Regulatory Services.


  • Brian X. Tierney

    Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

    Brian Tierney is responsible for finance, corporate accounting, planning and strategy, risk management and investor relations.


  • David M. Feinberg

    Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary

    David M. Feinberg is responsible for all corporate legal affairs and supervision of AEP’s Legal Department. Mr. Feinberg joined AEP as senior vice president and general counsel of AEP Service Corporation in May 2011.


  • Lana L. Hillebrand

    Senior Vice President & Chief Administrative Officer, American Electric Power

    Lana L. Hillebrand is senior vice president and chief administrative officer for American Electric Power, responsible for Information Technology, Human Resources and Labor Relations.


  • Dennis E. Welch

    Executive Vice President & Chief External Officer, American Electric Power

    Welch is responsible for governmental affairs, environmental affairs and services, corporate communications, safety and health, corporate sustainability, strategy policy analysis, corporate security and aviation, and real estate and workplace services.


  • Lisa M. Barton

    Executive Vice President - AEP Transmission

    Lisa M. Barton is executive vice president - AEP Transmission, responsible for the company's Transmission organization, which includes its field services, engineering, construction, planning and system operations, and new transmission business ventures.


  • Mark C. McCullough

    Executive Vice President - Generation

    Mark McCullough is responsible for all generation activities of AEP's 32,000 MW fleet, including fossil and hydro generation; nuclear generation; engineering, project and field services; fuel, emissions and logistics; and business services.


  • Charles E. Zebula

    Executive Vice President - Energy Supply

    Chuck Zebula is responsible for AEP’s Commercial Operations, AEP Energy, the company’s retail marketing unit, AEP Energy Partners, the company’s wholesale power marketing unit and AEP River Operations, the company’s barge transportation subsidiary.


  • Todd Busby

    Senior Vice President - Commercial Operations

    Todd Busby is responsible for energy marketing, energy trading, power projects and asset investments, market operations and commercial analysis.


  • Dale Heydlauff

    Vice President - Corporate Communications, President - American Electric Power Foundation

    Dale Heydlauff is responsible for internal and external communications and oversight of corporate contributions and community relations.


  • Tony Kavanagh

    Senior Vice President - Governmental Affairs

    Tony Kavanagh is responsible for formulating, coordinating and implementing the company's legislative and regulatory agenda at the federal and state level.


  • Richard E. Munczinski

    Senior Vice President - Regulatory Services

    Richard E. Munczinski is responsible for AEP’s regulatory activities before 11 state regulatory commissions and the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC), as well as AEP’s participation in regional transmission organizations.


  • Barbara Radous

    Senior Vice President - Operations and Performance Transformation

    Barbara Radous is responsible for driving and tracking the implementation of identified sustainable cost savings opportunities; identifying additional process improvement opportunities and organizational efficiencies; and capturing best practices and facilitating workshops throughout the organization to build capabilities.