Peifer To Oversee Ohio Valley Electric Corporation

Print Email Facebook Twitter

COLUMBUS, Ohio, Dec. 14, 2011 – Mark Peifer has been named vice president and assistant to the president of Ohio Valley Electric Corporation (OVEC), effective Jan. 1, 2012, according to Nicholas K. Akins, president of OVEC and president and chief executive officer of American Electric Power (AEP).

“Mark’s depth of experience and expertise in the generation business will serve us well as we continue to provide low-cost electricity to OVEC’s sponsoring companies while maintaining an exemplary record of safety and environmental performance,” Akins said.

Peifer will be responsible for all OVEC activities including operation of 2,386 megawatts of coal-fired generating capacity at Clifty Creek Station in Madison, Ind., and Kyger Creek Station in Cheshire, Ohio; 776 circuit miles of 345-kilovolt transmission lines; and the corporation’s environmental and financial activities. He will succeed Scott N. Smith, who is joining AEP Transmission as senior vice president of transmission strategy and business operations.

Peifer has served as vice president of generating assets for AEP Ohio since 2010 and previously was vice president of generating assets for Indiana Michigan Power. He joined AEP in 2005 as site vice president at the Donald C. Cook Nuclear Plant. Prior to joining AEP, Peifer was in the nuclear power industry at Alliant Energy’s Duane Arnold Energy Center and with the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO). He also served as a United States Navy nuclear submarine officer.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in analytical management from the United States Naval Academy and completed the Harvard Business School Advanced Management Program.

OVEC and its wholly-owned subsidiary, Indiana-Kentucky Electric Corporation, were organized in October 1952 by 15 sponsoring utilities. Parent companies of the sponsoring utilities are American Electric Power (NYSE: AEP), Buckeye Power, Inc., DPL, Inc. (NYSE: DPL), Duke Energy Corp. (NYSE: DUK), FirstEnergy Corp. (NYSE: FE), PPL Corp. (NYSE: PPL), Vectren Corp. (NYSE: VVC) and Wolverine Power Supply Cooperative, Inc. 

Print Email Facebook Twitter
Tammy Ridout
AEP Corporate Media Relations