Smith To Oversee Ohio Valley Electric Corporation

Print Email Facebook Twitter

COLUMBUS, Ohio, July 2, 2010 – Scott N. Smith has been named vice president and assistant to the president of Ohio Valley Electric Corporation (OVEC), effective Aug. 1, according to Michael G. Morris, president of OVEC and chairman, president and chief executive officer of American Electric Power (AEP).

Smith will be responsible for all OVEC activities including operation of 2,386 megawatts of coal-fired generating capacity at Clifty Creek Station in Madison, Ind., and Kyger Creek Station in Cheshire, Ohio; 776 circuit miles of 345 kilovolt transmission lines; and the corporation’s environmental and financial activities. He succeeds David L. Hart, who is retiring July 31.

Smith has been vice president – Generation Business Services for AEP since 2005. He joined AEP in 2001 as chief risk officer. Previously, he was vice president of risk management for Global Consumer Bank, a division of Citigroup. Before joining Citigroup in 1995, Smith was vice president of risk management for First Fidelity/First Union. Earlier, he was a national bank examiner for the U.S. Treasury Department. He served as a captain in the U.S. Army and worked as an engineer during his military service.

Smith received a bachelor’s degree in finance from Drexel University in Philadelphia and an associate degree in business administration from Valley Forge Military College in Wayne, Pa. He serves on the finance advisory council for Ohio University.

OVEC and its wholly-owned subsidiary, Indiana-Kentucky Electric Corporation, were organized in October 1952 by 15 sponsoring utilities. Parent companies of the sponsoring utilities are Allegheny Energy, Inc. (NYSE: AYE), American Electric Power (NYSE: AEP), Buckeye Power, Inc., Duke Energy Corp. (NYSE: DUK), DPL, Inc. (NYSE: DPL), E.ON AG, FirstEnergy Corp. (NYSE: FE) and Vectren Corp. (NYSE: VVC).
Print Email Facebook Twitter
Tammy Ridout
AEP Corporate Media Relations