AEP honored by EEI for emergency assistance to other utilities in 2006

Print Email Facebook Twitter
COLUMBUS, Ohio, Jan. 10, 2007 – American Electric Power (NYSE: AEP) was recognized by the Edison Electric Institute (EEI) today for helping other utilities restore electric service to their customers during 19 separate emergency events in 2006.

AEP received the Emergency Assistance Award from EEI, the association of shareholder-owned electric utility companies.

More than 1,000 AEP employees and contractors provided assistance in 14 states from Connecticut to Missouri to South Carolina during events that affected service to more than 3 million electricity customers. They spent nearly 85,000 accident-free employee hours restoring power in the wake of snow and ice storms, thunderstorms, high winds, tornadoes and tropical storms.

“This award represents untold dedication, sacrifice and focus on safety by individuals working in conditions most of us would do anything to avoid,” said Michael G. Morris, AEP’s chairman, president and chief executive officer. “It is a testament to each person who played a role in these power-restoration efforts.

“Those employees and contractors who helped AEP continue to provide reliable service to our own customers during these times of emergency assistance also deserve recognition,” Morris said.

“We have appreciated the assistance of other utilities when we have needed it, and we’re grateful to be able to reciprocate,” he said.

American Electric Power is one of the largest electric utilities in the United States, delivering electricity to more than 5 million customers in 11 states. AEP ranks among the nation’s largest generators of electricity, owning nearly 36,000 megawatts of generating capacity in the U.S. AEP also owns the nation’s largest electricity transmission system, a nearly 39,000-mile network that includes more 765 kilovolt extra-high voltage transmission lines than all other U.S. transmission systems combined. AEP’s utility units operate as AEP Ohio, AEP Texas, Appalachian Power (in Virginia and West Virginia), AEP Appalachian Power (in Tennessee), Indiana Michigan Power, Kentucky Power, Public Service Company of Oklahoma, and Southwestern Electric Power Company (in Arkansas, Louisiana and east Texas). The company is based in Columbus, Ohio.
Print Email Facebook Twitter
David Hagelin
Corporate Media Relations