Skip to main content

Executive Chair of the Board of Directors

Nick Akins is executive chair of the American Electric Power Board of Directors. He is AEP's 11th chair. He also served as the company's sixth chief executive officer and 10th president from 2011-2022.

During his tenure, AEP invested in modernization and security of the electric grid, resource diversification, and technology and innovation to enable the transition to a clean energy future while preserving universal access to the grid. Akins also led a culture transformation to engage employees in customer-focused innovation, enhance diversity and inclusiveness, and build workforce agility for a digital future.

Akins rose through the ranks at both AEP and the former Central and South West Corporation (CSW), which merged with AEP in 2000, holding various positions of increasing leadership responsibility throughout his career.

A native of Louisiana, Akins received his bachelor's degree in 1982 and a master's degree in 1986 in electric engineering from Louisiana Tech University in Ruston. Additional training includes executive management programs at Louisiana State University, the University of Idaho and the Reactor Technology Course for Utility Executives at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is a registered professional engineer in Texas.

Akins is a former chairman of the board of directors of the Edison Electric Institute (EEI), Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI), Global Sustainable Electricity Partnership (GSEP), Nuclear Electric Insurance Limited (NEIL) and the Ohio Business Roundtable (OBRT), as well as the former chair of the U.S. Business Roundtable (BRT) Energy and Environment Committee. Currently, he serves as chairman of the boards of Fifth Third Bancorp and OhioHealth. Additionally, he is a member of the boards of EEI, Institute of Nuclear Power Operators (INPO), OBRT and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. He was awarded the Louisiana Tech Tower Medallion and inducted into the university's Hall of Distinguished Alumni in 2022.